21.07.2022

Community

silver plastics joins the R-Cycle Community

silver plastics® GmbH & Co. KG – leading manufacturer of plastic packaging in the food sector – has joined the R-Cycle Community. Since 1967, silver plastics has been producing up to one billion certified packages per year on a total of 56,000 square meters of factory space in Troisdorf, North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany).

As a manufacturer of plastic packaging and with a view to social responsibility for future generations, silver plastics is consistently gearing its strategy towards a closed-loop recycling economy. From recycling-friendly packaging design and the use of recycled materials to innovative closed-loop solutions, the company is meeting this challenge in all areas. Here, silver plastics is focusing in particular on PET as the material of the future in the food sector, as it already enables a closed loop today. In combination with R-Cycle’s digital product passport, fully recyclable PET products can also be identified more precisely in the post-consumer waste stream and recycled to a higher quality.

Sebastian Kremer, CSO at silver plastics, explains: “Only when the entire value chain works together on a solution and everyone takes a step in the same direction will we arrive at sustainable solutions. Here, R-Cycle offers the best approach from our point of view to make all relevant information digitally available for a closed loop.”

Dr. Benedikt Brenken, Director R-Cycle, adds: “silver plastics is an absolute innovation leader when it comes to sustainable food packaging, with a clear commitment to circular products. In this respect, silver plastics and R-Cycle complement each other ideally to fully exploit the potential of sustainable packaging solutions.”

21.07.2022

Community

silver plastics tritt der R-Cycle Community bei

Die silver plastics® GmbH & Co. KG – führender Hersteller von Kunststoffverpackungen im Lebensmittelbereich – ist der R-Cycle Community beigetreten. Seit dem Jahr 1967 produziert silver plastics im nordrhein-westfälischen Troisdorf auf insgesamt 56.000 Quadratmetern Betriebsfläche bis zu einer Milliarde zertifizierte Verpackungen im Jahr.

Als Hersteller von Kunststoffverpackungen und mit Blick auf die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung für die kommenden Generationen richtet silver plastics seine Strategie dabei konsequent auf eine geschlossene Kreislaufwirtschaft aus. Von recyclinggerechtem Verpackungsdesign über den Einsatz von Rezyklaten bis zu innovativen Kreislauf-Lösungen stellt sich das Unternehmen dieser Herausforderung in allen Bereichen. Hierbei setzt silver plastics insbesondere auf PET als das Material der Zukunft im Lebensmittelbereich, da es bereits heute einen Closed Loop ermöglicht. In Kombinationen mit dem digitalen Produktpass von R-Cycle können voll recyclingfähige PET-Produkte auch im Post-Consumer Waste Stream präziser identifiziert und hochwertiger recycelt werden.

Sebastian Kremer, CSO bei silver plastics, erklärt: „Nur wenn die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette gemeinsam an einer Lösung arbeitet und jeder einen Schritt in die gleiche Richtung macht, werden wir zu nachhaltigen Lösungen kommen. Hier bietet R-Cycle aus unserer Sicht den besten Ansatz, um alle relevanten Informationen für einen geschlossenen Kreislauf digital verfügbar zu machen.“

Dr. Benedikt Brenken, Direktor R-Cycle, ergänzt: „silver plastics ist in Sachen nachhaltiger Lebensmittelverpackungen ein absoluter Innovationsführer mit einem klaren Bekenntnis zu kreislauffähigen Produkten. Insofern ergänzen sich silver plastics und R-Cycle ideal, um das Potenzial nachhaltiger Verpackungslösungen voll auszuschöpfen.“